>Facebook WILL NOT own the publishing rights of your photos on Friday – the Facts behind the rumour.


>Subscribe to The BULLDOG Estate by Email

Facebook WILL NOT own the publishing rights of your photos on ‘Friday’ – the Facts behind the rumour.

Many Facebook users are reposting a status update which claims that on ‘Friday’ (which probably passed about 12 Friday’s ago), Facebook would become the owner of the publishing rights of all their photos.  It’s false, but here’s some information for those who want to know more.
Firstly, an example of the fake update – (and DON’T REPOST it):
Friday, Facebook will become owner of the publishing rights of ALL your private photos. You need to make a simple change: go to ‘account’, ‘account settings’, ‘facebook ads’(along the top),then click on ‘edit third party settings’, choose ‘NO ONE’ then SAVE.
Facebook has responded by refuting the rumour on the Facebook Adverts page:
Quite frankly, Facebook is hopeless at explaining its statements.  Clicking the ‘Learn More’ link takes the user to Facebook’s long and complex Privacy Policy.  Who on earth has the time to read through it all to find the relevant information?  Will they even know what they are looking for, surely that was why they clicked it?
Dear Facebook, here’s a helpful hint.  When we click ‘Learn More’ against any topic, please show us that precise term of service, highlighted in lovely flourescent yellow.  Feel free to add a link to the whole privacy policy if you wish.   Most sincerely, average normal Facebook user with a life.
So where did this false update come from?  Well, we think that someone has completely mis-read information on Facebook’s Sponsored Stories.  Whoever you are, go and stand in the naughty corner and think about what you’ve done.
Unlike a Facebook Advert which contain custom messages from Advertisers, Sponsored Stories use information from Facebook activity and broadcast it to you friends.  In other words, Facebook has turned all its users into advertisers.   Like in this example here:
Status Update and the Sponsored Story created from it:
_________________________
Facebook will republish the Name and Profile Photo of Facebook users in Sponsored Stories as shown above, and this is where we think that someone has completely misunderstood them.  Facebook doesn’t become the publishing right owner of anyone’s photos just because they are republishing them on the Facebook platform, just as Zynga doesn’t when it re-publishes a users photo when they play a game.
But Facebook’s terms do state that :
You own all of the content and information you post on Facebook, and you can control how it is shared through your privacy and application settings. In addition: For content that is covered by intellectual property rights, like photos and videos (“IP content”), you specifically give us the following permission, subject to your privacy and application settings: you grant us a non-exclusive, transferable, sub-licensable, royalty-free, worldwide license to use any IP content that you post on or in connection with Facebook (“IP License”).
So while you remain the owner of your own photos eg, Facebook’s terms state that it can do whatever it likes with anything you upload while it remains on the site.  Including using users profile photos in a Sponsored Story.  Don’t upload anything to the Internet unless you understand that it can be copied and re-shared, which doesn’t mean you no longer own the original content, but its value might be diminished considerably.
The facts behind the Facebook Ads privacy setting:
Because Sponsored Stories aren’t classed as Ads, they aren’t covered by the Facebook Ad privacy setting.  So there is no opt-out.  However only people who could see the original activity will see the Sponsored Story created by it.  So if you post an Update which mentions a particular famous brand of carbonated soft drink, only the people who you authorized to see that update would see a Sponsored Story about it.
If you don’t want Facebook to use your name and photo in Facebook or third-party Adverts, then click Account > Account Settings > Facebook Ads > and set Third-Party advert settings and Social advert settings to ‘No One’, and click save.  If you do want your friends to be shown adverts based on your Facebook activity, then leave them at the default setting of ‘Only My Friends‘.  This won’t prevent your name and face from being republished in a sponsored story.  Your Facebook activity will continue to be used to advertise brands in them, but your own photos will remain your property.  And don’t repost status updates without finding out first if the statements within them are true.  Kudos to those who thought to ask first.  Step away from the naughty corner and give yourselves a pat on the back.

Share Leave a Comment and Share to Facebook

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: