Scam Alert: Social Network CloseDown – Official Announcement


Facebook has closed this down now, but please be on the look out for more like this

Likejacking:

Defined – A Facebook-enabled clickjacking attack that tricks users into clicking links that mark the clicked site as one of your Facebook “likes.” These likes then show up on your profile and, of course, in your Facebook News Feed where your friends can see the link and click it, allowing the vicious, viral cycle to continue through their walls and their friends walls..

Rogue Application:

Defined – There are weaknesses in facebook that allow unscrupulous facebook application developers access to your facebook information and to use your facebook account as a means to spread a fake viral message/ad across facebook. Once you install a rogue app it does not function as promised. It instead mines your data and/or spam’s your wall in an attempt to spread itself to your friends and throughout facebook.

Details: This is a wall spamming application and is linked to a survey and harvests details of yours and your friends


Damage Control (For those that may have fell victim)

Facebook Clean Up
You need to be aware that if you have installed any bad apps into your facebook profile or clicked any clickjacked or likejacked links within facebook, you may be currently spamming your wall and or your friends news feeds with the apps or links viral/scam messages. If this has occurred you must remove the messages from your wall by deleting the post and or remove the rogue app by uninstalling it from your facebook profile.

How to remove an Application from your profile:
If you have made the mistake of following thru with the install of a rogue application, Please do the following:
  1. Navigate to your Privacy settings- (Click Account, then “Privacy Settings”).
  2. Then under the heading “Applications, Games, and Websites” click “Edit Settings”.
  3. To the right of the heading “Applications You Use” Click the “Edit Settings” button.
  4. Finally find the application name in your list and click the “Little X” to the right of that name. Follow the facebook prompt to remove the app.
What to do if you’ve downloaded Software to your Computer
If you have followed one of the links on facebook to an external website or downloaded a piece of software you are unsure of and believe you may have got a virus infection, I suggest you immediately uninstall any software you may have installed, then run a virus check on your system.


Damage Control written by Mr. Black Knight (Co-admin BDE) Owner   ───► Scam Sniper ◄───


Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: